Room with a view

If I could fly at the speed of light to another location…another time, another place…If only…
It is 1989 and Mums saying “Please come with me Laura, I know you’ll enjoy it”…
Mum was inviting me to a works do at Coombe Abbey Country Park… Originally Mum and Barry her husband were supposed to be going.  Unfortunately Barry was taken ill and ended up in hospital at the time and couldn’t go… “The tickets were expensive and I’d hate to see the money go to waste” Mum continued… “Okay so what is it then?” I replied…
“It’s called a Medieval Banquet, its at Coombe Abbey”… Straight away two of my favourite things were presented to me…Food I didn’t have to cook and History…Monks and Abbeys! How could I resist…
We set out on what was to become one of the most memorable evenings I’d ever had and I know Mums too…
As we arrived we were greeted by a Monk in full costume who offered us both a warm glass of mulled wine, we were then led into a plush looking room decorated in warm reds and creams against the wonderful warmth of lots of dark wood…It was lovely…
Not too long after our arrival another Monk appeared from behind two archway doors and invited us all to lay down our twentieth century drinking vessels and follow him back in time to where we would be seated and the evening would begin…
We were led down a dimmed corridor with little arched windows and a Monk each holding a candle, they were faced away from us towards each of the windows and were chanting in hauntingly beautiful voices my spirits were lifted so high but my hands were gripped tightly to the back Mums coat (it felt a little eerie)…
The corridor suddenly opened out into a fantastic ye olde worlde scene, the room was like the interior of a massive tent with rows and rows of tables and benches joined together…
At the front of them all was a stage and along the back of the room was a long table where the Lord and Lady Mayoress were to sit; after they were chosen.
There were waitresses dressed in medieval attire who kept the red wine and mead flowing in between a seven course meal and in true Medieval style we ate with our hands…
The entertainment was nothing like we’d ever experienced before, focusing on audience participation; we’d never laughed so hard and heartily before…
Then came the sing a long song Piano man and we’d never sang along so joyfully before…
The evening was embroiled in magic for me, its become a Happy Place my room with a view…I visit it often whenever I’m feeling blue…

Leave a Reply

